And So it begins…

NOTE: The information in this blog is purely my own opinion, thoughts and experiences.
I practice free speech and the freedom to ignore something that I don’t agree with.  I don’t believe in ‘bashing’ or ‘criticizing negatively’. 
I practice my right, on my blog,  to not allow negative comments on my page as it is a collection of my own thoughts and memories for my own friends and family. 

Another school year is upon us.  I enter it with open eyes and open mind.

In preparing for this year, I came to realize a few interesting things.

  1. preparing for high school subjects is actually a LOT easier than elementary subjects
  2. I need to put more FUN stuff into our daily routine, I am too bookish and can be boring
  3. no matter what you post on a blog, which is supposed to reflect your own thoughts, there will always be people out there that want to criticize you
  4. some people seem to think that when they read a blog, the person has been raised within their own cultures/country so what they are saying is commented on as being ‘stupid’ – and they will share a link to it on another blog designated for pointing out ‘stupid’ people, or to be marked as ‘comedic’
    (Do you know where your blog posts are being shared?)

High School

I have pulled together an amazing set of courses for my oldest to do for Grade 9 this year.  Some of them were a little challenging to actually break down into a schedule, but after a few weeks, I got it all done.

Then last weekend, 3 days before we start ‘school’, I start putting together all the curriculum and books on the shelves and realize – I FORGOT to do the schedules for my youngest!  Arghhh.  That’s ok.  I am super mom.  I can cram it all into a night on the computer and get it all done.  Yup.  I can.  (And I did!)

MORE FUN PLEASE!

After looking back over the last 5 years, I have realized that my oldest and I have the same personalities, so books was the best way to go.  BUT – my youngest is a dancer.  She doesn’t like to sit still.  I had to scrap the curriculum plan I used with the oldest.  There was no way I was going to be able to get her to read all of the books my oldest read; and I wasn’t going to be able to read them too her either.  Reading aloud is hard to do when you do for 4 hours a day, 5 days a week.

I also realized that we didn’t do nearly enough FUN stuff.  So this year is going to be different.  LOTS of art, LOTS of science experiments, LOTS of outdoor stuff.

Blog Posts

I was doing a search on google to pull up my blog site quickly to share with someone, and found one of my posts listed on several other blog pages.  ONE post !  It got a lot of people hot under the collar I guess, as it came up on the first page in a search.  This post was about Math.  I was talking about how things were taught in our Canadian schools when  was a child (over 30 years ago).   ALL of the pages were from Europe and the UK, and they all thought I was a complete idiot. They were commenting on how math is not taught the way I was explaining it.

I just laughed.  I really did. Out loud.  My husband thought I was nuts.

A small part of me wanted to ask them a few questions – 1.  where did they live?  2.  how old were they? (because some methods have changed over the past 30 years – I admit that) 3. don’t they know how to read?  I did say we were in Canada and that the schools were teaching it a certain way…

But I didn’t post anything.  I didn’t see any point to it.   If someone wants to spend their time bad mouthing someone on the other side of the world, behind their backs, then so be it.  Nothing I can say will change their ways.

It did open my eyes though to this wonderful world of blogging.   I knew that the internet was pretty crazy, being an IT tech in the army, and creating web pages for the government. Always had to be careful with what we posted so we didn’t offend anyone.  But a BLOG?!  Come on.  Blogs are people opinions.  Sure some people will post facts and link to other references, but even I ALWAYS look up something myself before taking a blog verbatim.

Brings the topic back as to “What are the schools teaching these people?”  – oh yeah, they teach them What to think, not How to think.  (In My Own Opinion)…LOL

So I have made a promise to myself.   To do as my old sergeant told me in the army and to cover my butt.  I will start my blogs with:

NOTE: The information in this blog is purely my own opinion, thoughts and experiences.
I practice free speech and the freedom to ignore something that I don’t agree with.  I don’t believe in ‘bashing’ or ‘criticizing negatively’. 
I practice my right, on my blog,  to not allow negative comments on my page as it is a collection of my own thoughts and memories for my own friends and family.  

 

This entry was posted in Homeschool Thoughts, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

